When Can I Take A Seat?

by Malory Columbretis

DSC03086

My favorite seat at home. Photograph by Malory Columbretis.

When Can I Take A Seat?

It was all so simple long ago,
Before I learned of things;
Before I marched into the room
And took seat by the desk.

All was bright some time ago
Before I donned the robe;
Before I tossed the tasseled cap;
Before I took the scroll.

Everything was easy long before
I pondered on these papers;
Before I drew and looked at
All these dazzling figures.

It was never complicated
Before I took a stand
To speak out what was needed
To say to those deaf ears.

It was peaceful long before–
Before I waged a war
On survival, on life,
On the lost and can be gained.

I have stood long,
I have stood tall,
And now I feel so weary.
I think I need to rest.

All never ends, though, never ends.
The struggle never ends.
And so I think throughout the day
When can I take a seat?