When We Fell

by Malory Columbretis

love_holding_hands_wallpaper_free_desktop

I have forgotten when and how
I came to love you so.
I wonder if it matters now,
If I should care to know.

This love wherein we fell, my dear,
Feels threateningly deep
For someone who has come to fear
Loving with whom I sleep.

Ah, but what woe it is to wake
Without seeing you smile;
What sorrow it would cause to break
This bond that’s so worthwhile.

We’ve known each other for so long,
It’s just too hard to tell–
And yet, somehow, it feels so wrong
To pinpoint when we fell.

Maybe it was the first climax
Or the clear afterglow,
Or far earlier in flashbacks,
When you I came to know.

Then again, do all these matter
Now that I’m loving you?
To know the start, will I never
Have to fear losing you?

You smile and say I need not fret,
And that you cherish me.
You only hope I don’t forget
That, right now, you love me.

So I say, this I’m certain of,
Our love is true for now.
As long as there’s a sky above,
Let’s make this last somehow.

